Shadyside Hospital opened as a non-profit community hospital in 1866 in downtown Pittsburgh with 38-beds. Today, Shadyside Hospital retains its community hospital feel and accessibility, while the innovative care extended to each patient is world-class in a hospital with 520 beds. Generations of passionate, generous individuals are the bedrock of Shadyside Hospital Foundation, which was established in 1975 to support the goals and groundbreaking initiatives happening at Shadyside Hospital every day. Thank you for choosing to be among them. Your gift might turn scientific breakthroughs into lifesaving therapies, or help solve food insecurity in our community, or advance technology to improve hospital efficiencies for the benefit of staff, patients and families.


New executive director

Introduction to Jennifer N. March

"We are incredibly fortunate to have the Shadyside Hospital Foundation. I thank all the generous donors for supporting and advancing the world-class innovations that make our hospital exceptional."

Shadyside Hospital Foundation Board of Directors

  • Torrence M. Hunt, Jr. Chairperson 
  • H. Vaughn Blaxter III Vice Chairperson 
  • Mark J. Laskow Vice Chairperson 
  • Mikell Cooper Schenck Vice Chairperson 
  • Nancy B. Foster Treasurer 
  • W. Craig Esterly Assistant Treasurer/ Secretary 
  • Jennifer N. March Secretary
  • Lawrence N. Adler, M.D.
  • Vijay K. Bahl, M.D.
  • Caroline D. Barmen
  • William W. Barrington, M.D.
  • Dorothy B. Beckwith
  • G.Nicholas Beckwith III
  • Bonnie Blaxter
  • H.Vaughan Blaxter III
  • Courtney B. Borntraeger
  • Mary Brignano
  • Yvette L. Broadnax, M.D.
  • A. H. Burchfield III
  • William M. Cooper III
  • Patricia M. Duggan
  • W.Craig Esterly
  • Paul Euwer, Jr.
  • Steven Evans, M.D.
  • Nancy C. Fales
  • Sheila R. Fine
  • Nancy B. Foster
  • Mona N. Generett, Ph.D.
  • Robin Girdhar, M.D.
  • James A. Gleason, M.D.
  • Clinton E. Guyaux
  • John F. Hensler
  • James F. Hilliard
  • Torrence M. Hunt, Jr.
  • Leo A. Keevican, Jr.
  • Joan Kenney
  • Donna L. Knupp, M.D.
  • Mark J. Laskow
  • Louis E. Leff, M.D., MACP
  • *Kate W. MacVean
  • Jennifer N. March
  • Charles V. Masterson III
  • Jennifer Gonzales McComb, M.D., MPH
  • W. Duff McCrady
  • John McSorley III, M.D.
  • Mark W. Meyer, M.D.
  • Cooper Schenck Munroe
  • Jennifer J. Muse
  • Joel B. Nelson, M.D.
  • Richard A. Pagliari
  • James Pingpank, M.D.
  • Daniel W. Pituch, DMD, M.D.
  • Sandra L. Rader
  • William M. Robinson
  • Fred H. Rubin, M.D.
  • John A. Rudolf
  • Blake L. Ruttenberg
  • Mikell Cooper Schenck
  • Mark A. Studer
  • William M. Swartz, M.D.
  • Joseph C. Walton
  • W. Dennis Zerega, Ed.D.
  • David S. Zorub, M.D.
  • Yvette L. Broadnax, MD
  • Joan Kenney
  • Sandra L. Rader
  • Suzanne Karlovich Co-President
  • Joan Kenney Co-President

Foundation Staff

  • Jennifer N. March

    Executive Director
    email hidden; JavaScript is required
  • Rebecca Gruseck

    Foundation Manager
    email hidden; JavaScript is required
  • Mary Jo McCartney

    Project Analyst
    email hidden; JavaScript is required